Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pastry

Chill

Help all you brilliant cooks.

I have been making pastry and mince pies for many many years with brill results. But the last year or two (and especially this year) the pastry has not 'worked'. It is very very soft and difficult to handle and when cooked is doughy instead of flaky and light. So many batches have ended up in the bin. Any suggestions?

ps I have tried all different sorts of fat by with no success. This dod not used to be the case!!

Hi Chill

I find the best pastry is made with Trex - have you tried that one?

Hope they haven't change the ingredients - I'm relying on it this year for my mince pies! :o

My mum used to make the best pastry ever - she never weighed anything and it always turned out fab. She always used to run her hands under cold water before mixing the pastry by hand as she said that if your hands were too warm the pastry went sticky. She also used a 50:50 mix of good butter and lard.

I do not seem to have inherited the gift and like Maz mine come ready made and boxed :o

Did you see jamie oliver last night- he made some mouth watering mince pies with filo pastry- they look very unusual but added a twist on the traditional ones. heres a link to a website with the recipe

Now even I have made these (although before Jamie Oliver came to prominence I must say). They are the easiest things in the world to make and although I can't vouch for the mincemeat versions because I can't abide them, my jam alternatives have always been delicious.

Haven't done them for some time though - thanks for reminding me that I'm not such an undomesticated goddess after all apple! :o

I always make my Christmas pastry with egg yolks and milk as well as water. Handling the dough as little as possible helps to keep it light.

Like the sound of ground almonds, presumably you substitute some of the flour for that but how much?