Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Over-zealous Cleaning.....

hi guys-

help! my NA won't let the children take one toy from an area and use it in another- we have a small room with 14 children- e.g. child wanted to take a train and run it in the cornflour to see the tracks it has made. i think this was a fantastic opportunity and praised/joined in. NA went a bit off the deep end and shouted 'who has got cornflour on the trains????' 'no more trains in here!'

they get washed every night and sterilised every week- where is the harm and how do i prevent this/pull her up on it in a calm and understanding way so she won't get offended???

i'm new to the room and her superior but it is not hierarchical

:oxD - help!!!

thanks!

Tammi

Well, if you are her superior - how about deliberately planning an activity running the trains through paint or something, and the cars, and dolls feet and stuff, and then giving children a wet wipe to wipe them over - do it towards the end of the week, and you can say 'well you are going to wash them tonight anyway' or something.

You could take to opportunity to point out to her the marvellous learning that has gone on?

has that member of staff always been like that or is she stressed?

shouting at the children is unacceptable and it needs addressing promptly but sencitively i'd try a informally chatting to her about the way she speaks to the children and ask her why it is so important for the toys not to get mixed up?

if the informal doesnt work than take a more official approach maybe suggest some training behaviour management can be very effective in teaching staff better ways to address children and also in managing their own feelings when children arent doing what they should.

Hi Tammi

Show her this website. Perhaps that will help. There was also an item on the BBC morning news either last week or the week before. You could perhaps search the archives to find it.

Linda