Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Milk Issues

Hiya everyone!

A friend of mine called me the other day because her school is charging her £1.75 a week for milk. Her daughter has just turned 4 and started Upper Foundation/Reception.

This doesn't sound right to me, bus as I'm new to the job I dont really know. She's not too keen on paying though, as it works out very expensive.

I know at our school we ask for a voluntary £1 a week to help with baking/ food tasting and bread for toast,but this is voluntary and I'm sure none of it goes to milk.

I thought children had free milk, at least until they started Year 1?

Can anyone shed some light?

Thank you.

I'm not sure that schools access free milk, although I do think they are entitled to. Maybe some schools get their free milk and the ones that don't choose not to because of the administration, storage ad management of handing it out.

did a google and found this information which may be very useful for your friend to take along to her school.

SCHOOL MILK .CO.UK

Peggy

Children are entitled to one third of a pint of milk, which settings can claim back. I know some areas have schemes where the milk is free at the point of delivery. This has been discussed on the Forum before, so it might be worth a search.

I'm not sure what the arrangements are for children in reception/foundation units though - might be different.

Maz

Reception children should have free milk, which is a benefit they are entitled to. I have heard of some schools who don't claim it, but that seems very wrong to me. Their entitlement ceases on their 5th birthday, and then they have to pay if they wish to continue.

I dont know of any school in our area that claims free milk- to be honest I didn't think they could- as they get free fruit, one piece per child. All the pre-school settings claim the milk

Under 5's are entitled to free milk, over 5's who are entitled to free school meals are also entitled to free milk.