Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Can Anyone Help Me With An Over Affectionate Child?

Hi there !! I am new to this site and this is my first posting so bear with me !!! I have been childminding for 4 months and have no formal child care experience (apart from my two little girls that is) , have completed my icp course and passed so lets just say I am finding my feet !! Since I started I have been looking after a 3 year old girl who has always been extremely tactile and affectionate toward me and any other adult that she meets, to the point where it can be a bit uncomfortable . This isn't inappropriate touching, just lots of hugging, hand grabbing, sitting on knees, climbing all over you kind of thing ! Other people I have been with have commented on this , and I just wonderd has anybody any ideas on what could be causing this ?

Hi charliewarl...nothing intelligent to add at this stage, just wanted to welcome you to the forum! :o

Thanks Wolfie ! Its a bit hard to be intelligent at this time of night so no worries !!!!

Hi Charliewarl and welcome.

No ideas really except have you tried telling this little girl "no". Perhaps she just needs the boundaries defined for her. Some families have different parameters and it may be that she behaves like this with her parents, who are pleased by this affection as they do not see her during the day so she needs to know not to do this with you? Are you the only other adult she sees perhaps?

Have you talked to the parents?

Good luck.

have u talked to mum, is she like this at home?