Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Developing The Outdoor Area.

I work as a teacher in a school Nursery. After having a really large outdoor area that we had to share with other classes, we are putting plans into place for a dedicated area solely for our use. We will still have access to the main part of the playground for wheeled toys and ball games, but we have chance to really transform a fenced off area. We will no longer have to worry about taking things in at lunchtime, or worrying about other classes trampling all over our lovely things. A development plan is also part of my professional development this year, so I really want to make sure that all of the team know what we are trying to achieve, and more importantly WHY we are doing it.

So firstly I am trying to make our area as big as possible, because if all 30 children decide to go outside the area should be big enough to fascilitate this. I also want to create a variety in the surfaces, not just tarmac.

What I wanted to ask was... in the outdoor setting where you work, or where you have visited, is there anything you would say is fantastic?

We are hopefully having a decent sized canopy attached to the building so that there is enough room to have a writing area and other resources under there in bad weather.

I have thought about willow structures, a digging area, planters, sand and water, a play house, some logs to sit on, maybe some tyres, wind chimes etc.

I would love it if someone could give me some really good ideas, I am very enthusistic about outdoor learning, but its so difficult when you are contsrained by the nature of your outdoor space. At this stage where I can impact on how the space evolves, I want to make sure we get it right.

thanks

I read at a nursery this week that by 2012 all settings, including schools should be growing their own veg. I cant remember who decided it, LEA, government or other but depending on your space, could you have a small plot for a few veg? :o