Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Staff Ratio's

As you know I'm new to Nursery from a Reception class and ratio's and staffing "issues" are a new thing for me!

I know the ratio's and I can cope with that bit, but for some reason I cannot for the life of me work out ratio's etc when staff are on lunch and the juggling of staff. Can babies/toddlers have lower staff ratio when sleeping? What about mixing toddlers and babies staff when sleeping?

I'm a visual person and I need to see it! I've spent time this weekend trying to work out a visual picture, making charts etc but I keep coming up with a blank!

Thankfully the staff are being brill and helping me out but I need to get to grips with this! Does anyone have any methods they use? Is there a computer prog I can buy???

I really need to get this sorted this week or I'm going to get furious with myself!

Hi Tuffspot

We employ 2 lunchtime assistants from 11am - 2pm (minimum wage).

These are then able to cover 6 hours of lunches alongside the senior staff.

We do mix the age groups if we need to (this usually happens at 4.30pm when the first batch of staff go home), normally we just put all the children in the garden together.

Our children aged 3mths - 15 mths sleep in cots in a sleep room which is covered by a baby listener, we always ensure that there are enough staff as they could wake up at any time.

Our toddlers all have a nap after lunch so are a bit more predictable, so for example if we had 15 children sleeping who are in a 1:3 ratio i would allow 2 staff to have their lunch breaks retaining 3 to cover any children who may wake up.

Our staff are very good at taking their lunch at the most convenient time for us and this works pretty well.

You also need to consider the occasional times when you may need staff to remain in the building 'in case'

Sorry, not wishing to confuse!! And yes, ninafox, that would be my feeling!!

Louby lou, I'm interested, where did you get that info??

Sue

ninafox,