Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Apprentices

I have approached a training provider with a view to taking on a modern apprentice to help me with my childminding service.

I am very excited about the prospect of having a willing assistant and also of helping to train someone well.

I am however new to the whole employing somebody thing, and could do with some wise tips from those who have been there, done that, and got the t-shirt. I'm sure there must be a whole heap of pitfalls.

I can offer 17.5 hrs per week and am willing to pay a training rate of £3.30/hr for a 16/17 yr old. Does this sound fair and would I need to provide mealbreaks - paid or unpaid? I certainly don't get any breaks in the day myself but I expect employees would be entitled to them.

Many thanks.

Cheryl

Hi

I am not an expert on this but I know from my expereince of employees they are legally entitled to a paid break after 6 hours per work and my staff have a lunch break which they do not get paid for. You may wish to check you public liability insurance with the student been under 18 we have also had to put in place a specific risk assessment for a student under 18. I am sure others on the site will be of more help to you.

Thank you,

I have checked my insurance and can't spot any special mention or exclusions for young workers.

I will provisionally add an unpaid half-hour meal break to the day, and will discuss it with the college rep who will be coming to see me for a chat and health/safety visit before any prospective students are introduced.

I need to find out about sick/holiday payments too. Are student placements normally term-time only workers?

I don't know how it works with Childminding apprentices, but I do know that in Day Nurseries, apprentices generally work all year round, it is the college/study day that works in terms of half term holidays etc.