Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Dilemma time!

Running Bunny

Help me out - I've got a dilemma on my hands!

I've been on the committee of our local playgroup for 4 years (my background is early years childcare) and I was planning on staying on after my youngest leaves to start school, as we've just had a pre-Ofsted audit by our LA that needs tons of work doing, which I really enjoy (yes, it's official - I'm nuts!)

I have been looking for work in preschools or creche work to fit around the children as there wasn't any vacancies at our playgroup. Until Wednesday. Our deputy has got a full time job at school so has handed her notice in. The manager asked the committee last night if it was ok for her to offer the hours to the newly qualified student who has been volunteering with us; not even a discussion to find out if I might be interested (and I've made no secret that I'd like to work there)

The dilemma is that a full time (school hours) job is being advertised at another playgroup 10 minutes from home. I've asked for an application form but feel like I'm betraying existing playgroup even though they've really pee'd me off. I appreciate I'm not entitled to the role at our playgroup and would have to go through formal interview process etc, but there wasn't even a 'would you be interested...?' chat.

I'm a terribly loyal person, which my husband can't get his head around, so I'm really torn. Of course, if I get another job I'd have to relinquish my role on the committee too, which (without blowing my own trumpet too much) would leave them in a bit of a tailspin I think! Equally, I don't want to mess the other playgroup around if I get to interview for that position.

Any other points of view to help would be much appreciated.

RB x

Guest tinkerbell

They do say 'a change is as good as a rest'

It is a shame that the committee haven't appreciated your hard work.If the staff are 'moving up' will there be a position available at all?