Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Do you believe in fate?

I am sat here musing about the impending closure of my nursery after 22 years, not sad or upset just a little melancholy, thinking about all the children who have passed through my door. When I started trading all those years ago I had no idea that this job would become such a big part of who I am and the decision to close has happened really quickly so I have not had much time to sit and think. The point of my question in the title is because when I opened my doors in 1992, I said to my co worker at the time 'I'm not doing this forever, the minute a child comes back through that door with a child of her own I'm giving up!' As I sit here writing a very difficult letter to my parents informing them of my decision, I realise that two of them are indeed ex pupils from when I first opened. Is this a self fulfilling prophecy or just a co incidence? Is that the reason that I am finding it all so easy to give up?

Well Max, I said exactly the same thing when I took up the reins. I too will give up next year I think, my grand daughter to finish here first, and yes she is the real catalyst here, her dad used to come to this pre school before I became involved.

I think there is a time to come to an end, especially as our own needs alter, it is only right and proper. What saddens me is when groups close because of influences beyond our control.

We should have a new forum area for ex owners supervisors or who ever to chat and reminisce with!

• Like 1

:( oh Max - I feel a bit melancholy on reading your post........but at the same time a teensy bit envious - envious because I don't know if I will ever be able to 'let go' with 'ease'.......