Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Early Years Teachers and EYPS

I am an Early Years Professional. What does this change mean for me? Those who hold EYPS will continue to be valued as graduate leaders and will be recognised as the equivalent of Early Years Teachers. Early Years Teachers will be able to work in all private and voluntary sector settings. Free Schools, new mainstream and alternate provision academies, and existing academies can employ teaching staff without the requirement for them to have Qualified Teacher Status (QTS).

QTS is currently a requirement for teachers working in the maintained sector.

So basically go back and train to get your EYPS upgraded to a teaching standard however if you choose to work in the maintained sector you will still need the QTS. Sod this I am just going to do the PGCE at leats that way I can work across key stages and in any sector!!!!

They say that EYP's will be seen as 'equivalent to' Early Years Teachers but I don't really know what that means. We EYP's aren't given much status or recognition now, so what will being 'equivalent to' another new qualification achieve?

It wont be equivalent because even after you have gained your EYT you still wont be recognised as a teacher should you wish to work in the maintained settings. Herein lies the problem! With QTS you can work across settings but with EYT you wil be limited to the settings highlighted above. Where is the equivalence?

Equivalent in terms of equality or equity?

Equivalent only in terms of equity but not equality because accessibility to all early years settings in the sector will be limited to QTS only!

£9,000 for the year to gain QTS...better start saving!