Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

how many children can one teacher have?

Hi i am a teacher in a school based nursery. We have currently just gone over 26 children in the mornings and so now have 3 members of staff. My question is.. how many more children can we have? If a reception class goes over 30 they need another teacher is this right? If within a nursery session if it goes over 30 would this be the same or would the 1:13 ratio just continue therefore we could have up to 39 children before employing another member of staff? The reason I ask is that as the teacher it is my responsibility to plan for and complete assessments for the children and it just seems unmanageble to have that many children within a session then possibly the same in the afternoon session?! Surely there is a limit to teacher's workload or would nursery nurses be expected to plan and assess some of these children and if so would they be entitled to ppa? I would appreciate it if anyone knows the legal requirements. I know that it also depends on square footage but we have a large nursery so i don't think this would be an issue at present. Thanks

We went over our 26 for a term about 18 months ago ( then went to 2 sessions the following term of 26 max). We understood that we would need another teacher if we went over 30. Also, we have 3 children's loos and the requirement for that was 1:10, so again we stuck at 30. However, the new EYFS seems to specify 1:13 with one being a teacher, at least one a level 3 so it's not as clear cut.

When we had 30 we found that it was permanently hectic and we didn't get to know all of the children as well as we'd have liked. We split the obs etc 3 ways but it still didn't work for us and I don't think we'd do it again given a choice.

The teacher is the only one ( and was with 30) to get PPA and her workload was massive , as it is when we have 52 across 2 sessions.