Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Star Wars activities needed

Have a Star Wars fan at the moment - as the radio programme says "I've never seen Star Wars" no idea about this at all, we have looked at a Star Wars annual together, made a couple of masks and a light sabre but really that's all any ideas anyone, getting desperate. This young man does not particularly enjoy mark making or craft particularly

Building one of the ships? Making a C3PO robot. Doing different voices for the characters? I'm not an expert either - in fact have borrowed star wars DVDs from a friend for the same reason - I have a couple who are interested and I'm clueless!

Thinking about the light sabres - could you do something with glow sticks - leading into a light/dark type activity? What about making a space scene - splatting white paint onto black paper and sprinkling with glitter for stars and adding planets/ships to either make a picture or just laminate cut outs so they can be moved around the background to tell a story?

• Like 1

Helen thank you, I love these ideas - he is very reluctant with this type of activity - however, we would be more than happy to do the majority of it in the hope that he will come along and join in to some degree, or at least play with it afterwards, I think he would enjoy the space landscape and laminated characters.

Been thinking about it more (while I'm trying to come up with some more Australia ideas!) I'm pretty sure one of the planets is very desert like - could you have a shallow tray with some dry sand in and explore pattern making/mark making (maybe using the light sabres!) in the sand?

Will keep pondering - I'm oddly awake for this time on a Saturday! What kind of activities does he usually like doing?

We share him with another setting who do a lot of craft work and it has taken us some while to get his confidence and show him there is more to pre-school than cut and stick.