Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Staff observation forms

clairew28

Hello

I am new to the committee role and have been asked to carry out some staff observations to aid appraisals etc. Does anyone have any forms they use etc for this?

I am a reception class teacher and part of the school management team so am used to carrying out observations of teachers etc but obviously the school forms are not applicable!!

Thanks in advance

Claire

x

Cant help with a form, I'm Chair but we've never involved committee members in observations or appraisals (except on the manager and it wasnt a proper one). I know we probably should but most of our committee are and have been parents with no understanding of how we work nor of what would make a good observation so it would be a big thing to ask of them.

I have thought of it in passing now and then, so if someone has a form I might be tempted.

Welcome to the wonderful world of committee's :ph34r::D

Edited to say check the resource area, pretty sure there were some templates for appraisals a while back. :1b

Edited by Rea

It is separate to appraisals. We have got our County Council in and they have stated that we are expected to carry out supervisions and observations due to the new Statutory Guidance.

I agree that many do not have a background and are not comfortable with what they are looking for and this is something that I am going to raise at our next meeting with the CC. I am not in the position to do them as I am a full time teacher and it would mean using my own PPA time to observe at the playgroup which I am not keen to do in that time.

The form looks good and maybe worth an adaption to suit out setting!

Thanks for the advice

C