Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Baseline In The Foundation Stage

Calling out to all Foundation teachers, assistants, helpers, those who have gone before us, and those who know what they're talking about :)

This is my first year in foundation stage and i'm 'lucky' enough that my class don't actually start for another week. So i've been told to hold off any short term planning until next week, but you know what it's like. I just cant help myself and want to be prepared.

So here's my problem. When i taught in year 1 and throughout my training we always carried out baseline through 'tests'. I am aware that we don't test year F and am struggling to get my brain thinking in a foundation stage way.

What sort of activities have people got planned? surely it cant all be through observing free choice?

Also, i'm planning on putting out a few 'early morning activities' for when the chn are coming in. hopefully they will put their bags etc away, self register, and get on with the activities i have put out. I'm hoping this will give me a chance to talk to parents, sort out 'coming in things', and get the chn in a school frame of mind. Would this sort of thing be acceptable in the foundation classroom?

I think i'm starting to panic a bit.... where's that wine....

In anticipation :)

surely it cant all be through observing free choice?

Pretty much, yes it is. Rather than baseline it's possibly more helpful to think of it as transitional assessments as the real baseline was the day the EYFS child was born!