Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Jack(Jill) Of All Trades Master Of None?

Hi Everyone

I'm doing a research project for my degree and am looking for some willing managers to help me out!

I still haven't quite formulated the title yet, but what I'm interested in is how effective is the typical staffing structure of an early years setting, especially the managers role, could we have a more effective structure? Does any other country do things differently from us?

I feel that as a manager I'm a 'jack of all trades and master of none' and I'm constantly chasing my tail, never quite getting to where I want to be......so, I wanted to find out if am I alone in this or is the way we are structured having an effect?

I have attached an initial questionnaire, hoping to get some ideas on avenues to follow.

If you can help by filling it in, thank you very much, I know how busy you all are!

Please save the attached questionnaire first, then complete it, save your changes and post it back to me.

I really appreciate your help.

Thanks

Hmmm, not sure how to attach a word document so, here is the questionnaire in full...

Some questions are asking for factual information and as such are closed questions, some ask for your point of view and are therefore open ended, your personal opinion is very important!

1. What type of setting do you manage?
  2. How many children is your setting registered for?
  3. How many staff do you manage?
  4. How long have you been in this post?
  5. Are you supernumary?
  6. How many hours are you contracted to work per week?

1. Do you work extra hours either at home or after your paid hours at work? If so, on average how many extra hours per week do you work?

1. Do you have a deputy manager and are they supernumary?

1. Do you have admin support? If so, for how many hours per week?

1. Does your setting employ an EYP?
  2. Does your setting employ a cook or cleaner?
  3. Do you have access to the internet?