Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ourselves/all About Me Planning

Hello everybody

I'll be beginning my second year of teaching in september in a reception class and the topic will be based around 'ourselves and 'all about me' - common themes at this time of year. Was just wondering if you can help me with some fresh ideas or if any of you could share your planning based on there themes.

Thank you very much in advance.

Emma x :D x

That's incredibly useful Steve - thanks! I haven't seen it before but will most certainly have a look at the other topics too.

Would still appreciate any extra ideas or example of planning for ourselves/all about me.

Thanks! :)

• 2 years later...

Hello,

I'm very new to this (as I am the foundation stage - as of Sep 08!!) and have been snooping for a clue mainly! People seem to like the Norfolk materials but everytime I click it rudely tells me 'this page cannot be displayed'!! :o Is this an old link does anyone know?? Sorry to be a pain!

:o Hello Emma,

We did this theme at our Pre-School this term.

Each week we covered a different area and have made into a scrap book for each child

Hands & feet prints

Looking at themselves in a mirror and collage their face

Eyes- roleplay area OPticians(we got loads of glasses from local opticians and posters and sparkle box have a great printable pack for this to. We also cut out eyes(some cut themselves and they painted these the colour of theirs.

Family trees(this was really good for parental involvement) we drafted a family tree and photo copied for each child and sent home with a note asking the parents to complete and return (every one did!!!!)

Favourite Clothes - used old catalogues and got the children to cut aut and stick clothes they liked onto a precut sugar paper body.

Teeth - We made collage toothbrushes and had the local Primary care trust come into preschool and discuss teeth cleaning (great activites and the children all got a tothbrush and teeth cleaning chart)