Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Learning Journeys

Hi-i'm new to Reception starting 2012 and was wondering what do people put in their learning journeys? The current reception teacher only does long observations of the children and puts work in separate folders.

Here is what I am thinking of including:

A page of information completed at home by parents called All About Me-to include children's interests, families, likes, dislikes etc.

Then any short observations, photo evidence, lengthier observations and any indepedent work completed by the child. In other words a portfolio of what the child has done over the year.

At the beginning of each term I want to include a summary of where the child is up to in relation to Development Matters.

Any advice on Learning Journeys and examples will be much appreciated.

Our learning journeys are called wow books and they're scrap book type books. Everything that is child initiated is put in there so photos, work samples, short obs, long obs we also put milestone type things in there so a photo of first day at school, writing their name at the start of the year, photo of them in a costume for world book day, Xmas play etc. they are a massive undertaking ( and the bane of my life) and you need systems in place to make sure that you don't get behind with them. I have filing boxes with a section for each child and at the end of each day or as we go we put evidence directly in each Section. I had a gran this year who glued in everything each week to all 30 books. I took them all home every fortnight and annotated the lot and used them to plan next steps and work out what evidence we needed to collect. We have bought in the scrapbooks to do again this year but we will be using target tracker so I think that our learning journeys will move towards being more electronic as we can apparently upload obs and photos done on iPad and link to DM and then the parent will receive a file on a disc at the end of the year.