Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Is This Expectation Unreasonable?

Morning all.

I have had another dreadful nights sleep and decided a little moan on here and an opportunity to gather thoughts from those outside of my family or work space might help lighten my mood!

It's a long winded tale and I don't want to air It all publicly right now but here is the situation I find myself in.

I am paid at level 4 and I am called the extended school manager. I work in morning (maintained) nursery and I also work and manage afternoon (private) nursery.

I also manage breakfast club, lunch club and after school club. Besides the morning nursery sessions the rest of my job is involved with all issues to do with wraparound care.

I am a qualified NNEB, I have a foundation degree in early years, I have my EYPS and have enough of my BA in early years to class as having a non honours degree, but I am returning to uni in September to do the last 4 modules of the BA.

I have worked with children for 30 years ( because I am way old!!! Or maybe because I started SO young!!!)

I researched and set up our wraparound care and interviewed and chose my staff. My Head teacher has always been fully supportive of my ideas and choices.

However that Head left suddenly and we found ourselves with an acting Head. Very nice and she has worked hard to help our school.

She hasn't had the time to get to know any of us and our roles very well and a new Head starts in September.

Because of one thing and another I find myself 2 staff down for the coming term and

(here comes the aggravation)

I have not been included in the process of finding new wraparound staff.

I have pushed myself in various situations, for instance I gave the head my job descriptions and my person specs

I asked for two level 3 staff and the ad was for one level 3 and one level one ( even though I am losing 2 level 3's)