Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Revised Eyfs

Hi all! Isn't the weather glorious?!?

So, what does everyone think to the new EYFS?? I'm very new to childminding so having just about got my head around the EYFS they've now gone and changed it! Great! lol!

Am interested on hearing all your thoughts on it and how you're all going to implement the changes.

xxx

Guest Clonmany38

Am I right, has common sense prevailed? Do I no longer have to have written risk assessments for my home?

It does look that way doesn't it Clonmany38!

"the requiremants in relation to risk assessment have been adjusted to clarify that it is for providers to judge whether a risk assessment needs to be recorded in writing"

I guess most of us already have all the necessary risk assessments done. Does it mean that we don't need to update them every year? They can just sit in a folder only to be looked at when a parent wants a quick peek.

Are there going to be any courses to go on in relation to the new EYFS?

Guest Clonmany38

I concerned about the SEN requirement at 1.7 - I'm not sure there is any SEN support left in my area for pre school children. Childminders will have to be more on the ball at identifying delay and addressing it, not easy, especially if new to the role.

I'm two thirds through re typing my summary assessment sheets that go with each child's development file, then I have to review my continuous provision planning sheets and policies and procedures to bring them in line with this review. I know technically I don't need the paperwork but its impossible to explain my policies and procedures consistently to each parent and Ofsted unless they are written down and each parent is given copies.

I think I can say Good Bye to my Easter Holidays

• 2 weeks later...

It does look that way doesn't it Clonmany38!