Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Responsibility Of A Level 3 Eyp With Dip In Preschool Practice.

Hi I have a level 3 diploma in preschool practice and have over 5 years experience working in a reception class in an international school in Switzerland. I would like to know what level of responsibility a similarly qualified practitioner would have I the UK. Would someone receive a salary increase on achieving their diploma . .. Ie I had no qulaification to begin with and now do... But with no increase in salary.. Is this fair?

I would love to hear what similarly qualified staff do in their setting.

Thanks everyone.

County

X

As much as pay rises would be nice with qualifications it doesn't always happen :o

Most employers though will maybe pay a little more between someone unqualified to someone qualified but probs only by 10 to 20p and hour.

I worked in a setting and everyone from unqualified to those with degrees recieved min wage

Thanks Sazz for your reply. What about responsibility within your setting. Planning, leading class etc.

The NEC say that a person with a diploma in preschool practice can take on a more supervisory role.. What does that mean, how much responsibility could I ask for?

:-)

County

As much as pay rises would be nice with qualifications it doesn't always happen :o

Most employers though will maybe pay a little more between someone unqualified to someone qualified but probs only by 10 to 20p and hour.

I worked in a setting and everyone from unqualified to those with degrees recieved min wage

Much as we would like to recognise each person's qual level, sadly our funds do not always allow this. Therefore you would get the rate for the job discription whatever your level is.

I only wish we could offer more money per hour, but the way the funding works now, personally I can only see it getting worse for us in a village preschool.

xxx