Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Feeling Frustrated

I am a Manager for a nursery in a chain. I have been at the nursery I currently manage for about 8-9 weeks, before that I was at my previous ursery, with the same chain, for 4 years. The Manager of the nursery I am now at left the company completely and I was moved there as they needed a strong manager in place; and boy do they!!

I have uncovered lots of things in the short time I have been there; none of it good I am afraid, but the one thing that is worrying me alot is how much of a "control freak" the previous manager was. The girls are absolutely terrified to do anything without being told to do it; festivals, chaging lay out of the room, asking for equipment, transitioning children to the next room etc etc etc. Obviously I've had meetings and 1:1's and expalined what my expectations of them are and that I most definitely am not xxxxx (their previous manager)!! Some things are improving but not much.

I believe that as morale is low, but not as low as it was, the children are not getting the level of care they deserve; they are getting basic and that is it; there are far too many snotty noses, too many babies crying, too many children wondering aimlessly etc etc

We are lucky enough to have a teacher work with us for alot of the week (as we are part of the Children's centre),I have spoken to her about my concerns; I'm not sure she noticed them at first, but after a period of observing she has agreed with me. She and our EYAT are carrying out ITERS/ECERS now to give us a base line of where we are now and to give the girls something to aim for; in some ways I believe that the girls don't know what they are doing wrong or not good enough.