Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Language Development

We have a child just joined out setting who is showing signs of ASD, they have very little language and the Language which they have is very repetative. I would like to make a information booklet for all the parents with ideas on how to help their child develop language at home as a few parents have asked me for this information in the past.

If anyone has a information booklet which I can use I would be a very happy girl

I would also like to ask your advice on how you would apporach the parents about the child who I have concerns about, they have only been at the setting for a week but they are due to start main stream school in January 2012.

thank you in Advance

Karen

HEllo

I am a teacher in charge in a special support centre ofr children with speech and language needs. I would say that one of the key things to put forward is the development of vocabulary wit children. Ther are sosem frightening statistices of reception aged children's long term prospets and success in life being determined by their lack of vocab.

Victoria Joffe a therapist has some good info on this.