Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Please Help :( Cont. Provision

Hi, I am new to Year 1 and continuous provision..

I know i am not implementing cont provision actually, like the tasks/challenges etc and i feel like i am sinking

Any ideas for cont. provision that have been really effective in your class (and engaging to children)? any area too? Anything anything?

Ill shut up before i sound pathetic

Thanks in advance

x

I'm a bit puzzled, Continuous Provision is what is always there. Your sand and water, cutting, writing, reading, jigsaws, small world etc. So you will be implementing it, perhaps not realising how much you can get out of it.

I've uploaded a plan that we use at Preschool, it's in the resources section somewhere. You'll see from this that you are doing these things and possibly where you can enhance things to promote some next steps

Continuous_Provision_plan_forum.doc

Hi thanks for that, thats really detailed

It was more like a list of activities for role play

i.e. make a pattern with the peg boards

write me a sentence using an adjective

(long term.. brain frazzled)

When I had Rec/Y1 mixed I had a little sign in each area which I could write on the 'challenge' for the week for the Y1s. They all had a laminated sheet with the areas of the classroom on which they ticked off when they had completed a challenge in each area. We would look at by end of the week to see how they had got on and we would also discuss at the end of each session. For example, when we were doing the 3 little pigs it included things like writing a letter to the big bad wolf in the writing area, making a strong house in the construction area, acting out the story in the role play area etc It did take a lot of modelling and encouragement to get going but worked well in the end.