Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Newbie Advice!

Hey all, how are we all doing today? :(

Well, I'm just starting out as a child minder. Fingers crossed I should get my certificate through the post today and get started. I've put up a couple of adverts so just waiting for the phone to start ringing! eeekkk! I'm a bit nervous! :rolleyes:

First question: I'm so confused on numbers. I'm allocated to have 5 children because I have 1 of my own who is 13months. So, this means I can have 2 more under 4 and then 3 over 4?? Is that right?? and I might be working with an assistant on some days too. She has a 9 month old, so is it right that she can have 5 children too? Do the numbers differ because she's an assistant?? :o

Second question: What do you all use for the childrens daily diary?? Do you make your own or do you buy a book each?? and where and how do you record your observations?? xD

Third question: When people phone up, what do you recommend doing?? Getting them to come round and discuss what's on offer or do you do most of the discussion over the phone?? :(

Sorry for all the questions, please feel free to answer all, part or none at all! hehe! :(

Any advice is very welcome! :wacko:

Thank you! xD

Hi and welcome,

Your numbers already take you're own children into account so you can childmind the number on you certificate plus your own on top.

I always prefer to get people to come and meet me, see my home and discuss terms face to face but I will answer questions over the phone if they want me to because there may be something which is essential to them that I can't provide.

Hope that helps a little.

Welcome to the wonderful world of the Registered Childminder.

I think your numbers sound right. Basically three littlies during the day and three school-aged under eights before and after school (and sundry over-eights up to maximum of ten).