Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Organising Your Photos What Do You Use?

Hi this year rather than printing out the masses of photos we take, I would like to organise the photos into files for each child so that at the end of the year they can take home a disc of their year as a gift and save us printing costs (was inspired by someone on the forum who did this and wanted to try it this year) What I would like to do is to tag the photos with each child's name and/or the area of development and let the computer do the work rather than manually copy and pasting photos into files. Can anyone suggest an easy program through which I can do this?

Thanks

deb

I am no expert on this so Im sure others will have better ideas, but have you explored Picassa? Easy to use (even for me), you can easily create a folder for each child, as well as record notes and titles (an date!) on each picture. It also have face recognition although I'm not sure how good this is for children. I've used it to sort my photos on my computer and its not bad if the pics are clear enough.

yes you can Susan. You can either change 'border and text' settings after you choose print, and then add caption, changing colour font and size;

or you can put the text directly onto the photo by going to edit photo and choosing text (or abc I think) and change it to suit from there. You can choose 'copy caption' or write something else.

I might have to go and investigate this. I'm just looking at photographs of resources and am realising just how many photos of children I have. Being able to sort them all and transfer them to CDs to give to parents would be fab. Another job on the to do list!