Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ad-hoc Contracts?

Hi, its my first time on here and feel I could be here all night reading all the topics. lol. dont think my other half is too impressed. I've only been minding for 5 weeks and only have 1 boy on a Friday at the moment.

His Mum and Dad have split up and have 50/50 parental responsiblity. My contract for Friday is with Mum and she has signed all permission slips etc. She asked me last Friday if I could have the boy on Tuesday for his Dad as he was struggling to get childcare. I agreed and have since wondered if I ought to do a contract and permission slips for the Dad to sign? He may require me again in the holidays. He did pay for his day so if my contract is with the mum would I have a leg to stand on if he didnt pay or had a dispute over something that needed permission?

2nd question, I am advertising for babysitting services and have had an enquiry for a one off to babysit at a hotel for 2 different families who have said they will provide baby monitors for listening in on the children. I have seen for sale on NCMA website some babysitting checklists and wondered if it would be a good idea to get some of these. Does anyone know what they contain? or how I would stand if the parents were to have a complaint about my servce???

Gosh so many things buzzing through my mind right now!

Thanks to anyone who can offer advise.

Louise

Hi, I'm not a childminder, but my initial thoughts on the 50/50 parents would be to get the dad to sign his own contracts with you....................I've had situations where one parent has refused to pay for a session booked by the other one, and it got very messy! Best to cover yourself, I think?

As to the babysitting, I personally wouldn't feel happy listening in through a baby monitor to another room.....can you recommend someone else to the families so they have a sitter each?

Hi Louise -

Welcome to the Forum and thanks for saying hello! :o