Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Setting Up A Playgroup

Hi

I know there are lots of posts already on this subject but just looking for some input around setting up a playgroup.

I am currently a playgroup manager of a committee run playgroup.

Now I know an area where a group of parents are have a petition going for the LEA to open a nursery closer to them, with cuts can't see it happening. The primary school doesn't have a nursery and instead is a 15/20 min bus ride so cost of daily bus fares and also timings for dropping off and picking up siblings etc from the school means a lot of parents are feeling robbed of their free entitlement for their 3 year olds.

Now I am up for a challenge and feel it would be a fantastic opportunity to grab and set up one in the area. The school currently has one but only open 3 mornings and doesn't claim funding(long story) but the parents have sourced a potential building on the school site that is currently not used. I don't want to tread on the toes of the current leader but parents have asked her repeatedly to increase hours and days and begged her to claim funding.

Now I am going to contact the LEA with my proposal and speak to some of the parents too.

I am not sure whether to go for it as a committee run playgroup and obviously hope parents come on board but is it the Chair who has to be the suitable person or can I be registered or do I try and source loans/funding to set up as my own business.

Any hints or tips/ guideance or advice would be very much appreciated please.

Guest Spiral

WOW,

you are a brave person who deserves to succeed as your determination and dedication shines!

Certainly have a look at the PLA website and also look at the 'committee' area of this forum as it may help you to decide.