Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Gun And Weapon Play Questionnaire

mrsbat

I'm in my 2nd year of the degree and I need to undertake an study titled

"An investigation in to the suitability of gun and weopn play in an early years setting"

I have been given to go ahead to send questionnaires to parents and teachers in reception at the local primary school, to child minders, my staff and also the local children's centre but I'm really struggling coming up with the questions! I want 5 strong questions to ask the parents and the same for professionals, I'm okayish with the professional questions but I'm struggling to get questions for the parents which won't just give a yes/no answer.

Does anyone have any ideas please?

The professional questions I've come up with are

1)What is your policy when children use war/weapon play?

2)Have you noticed any benefits to allowing gun/weapon play?

3)Have you noticed any negative impact when gun/weapon play is taking place?

4)Would you support a zero tollerance policy on gun/weapon play? (Please give reasons)

5)not sure on question 5 yet lol

How about asking for practitioners' personal feelings about gun play? Or whether it is more suitable for certain age groups or kinds of settings?

You could ask parents whether they played with guns when they were children, whether they allow/encourage their own children to play with guns at home, whether they feel their children should be allowed to play with guns at pre-school. They are pretty much all yes/no questions, but you could ask them to qualify their answers by some kind of explanation/discussion of their viewpoint.

Good luck - sounds very interesting!