Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What Do You Teach In Foundation 2?

Hi Everyone xD

I am a teacher from New Zealand currently teaching in an independent school in the Middle East and following the EYFS curriculum. I had quite a difficult time coming to terms with the expectations last year, for CLL and PSRN. There was an expectation that the majority of the children would:

• have finished level 2 ORT
  • know all letter sounds and sound blend
  • know at least 45 key words
  • write a simple sentence

• count to 100
  • add and subtract at least up to 10
  • begin counting in 2's, 5's and 10's

Mostly in Australia/NZ this would be part of the year 1 curriculum.

While a few of my children were definitely interested and ready for much of this, I believe most weren't. I was also concerned that a lot of the focus was on numeracy and literacy leaving no time for other equally important areas of the curriculum. The parents are a real driving force and apparently they are concerned that their children are 'behind' their counterparts in the UK.

My understanding of the EYFS is that support should be given to those children who are ready to be extended, but that generally the expectation is that these skills would be achieved over a 2 year transition (FS2 and yr1). Is this correct?

And, roughly, what percentage of your children would reach most of these goals in your FS2?

Thanks so much for any feedback :o

Edited by Guest

Hi Everyone :o

I am a teacher from New Zealand currently teaching in an independent school in the Middle East and following the EYFS curriculum. I had quite a difficult time coming to terms with the expectations last year, for CLL and PSRN. There was an expectation that the majority of the children would:

[*]count to 100

[*]add and subtract at least up to 10

[*]begin counting in 2's, 5's and 10's

When you say count to 100 do you mean recite number names to 100 or count 100 objects?