Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Where Are The Men?

Nina1976

Hi,

Im new to threading and not sure if Im doing it right...

But...

I am about to start my 3rd year BA Childhood Studies (Early Years) and the dreaded dissertation!

I would like to research the experiences of the male early childhood carer and need some men who work in this role to maybe offer up their experiences.

I would like to know what influenced you to choose a career in childcare, what role and qualifications you have and how long you have been doing it?

Also if poss. your experiences from peers, family, colleauges, parents and the children themselves.

If there are any women practitioners who have an opinion on the male ECC, I would love to hear your perspective.

If anyone has done similar topics and can offer any advice I would be really grateful.

Hopefully this makes sense, look forward to hearing all your stories...

Nina :o

Welcome to the Forum, Nina and congratulations on making your first post. As you can see, it worked perfectly!

You've obviously found the Men in Childcare forum so hopefully that will give you some food for thought. I'm not sure what has happened to Kiwiman's campaign - he's been a bit quiet of late, but it might be worth contacting him to see if he can give you some other lines of enquiry to follow up.

Good luck - hope your post generates a lively discussion!

Maz

hello and welcome to the forum - men in childcare - ummmmm.

have a couple in the LA i work in - absolutly fab - children love it - BUT i think most decline below senior school for money and prestige resons :o

hello and welcome to the forum - men in childcare - ummmmm.

have a couple in the LA i work in - absolutly fab - children love it - BUT i think most decline below senior school for money and prestige resons :o

Hi Hali,

Thanks for reply...pay and status do seem to be the most talked about barrier for the men! Hopefully someone on here will discount the theory!

Nx

• 1 month later...