Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Children Arriving

Hi,

I am a Foundation Stage Teacher and also a committee member for my children's nursery. Their nursery takes children from 2 to pre school and there seems to be no differentation in the age groups (they are all in 1 room). I recently asked at a committee meeting if they needed to review how the children arrive in the morning as they now take 2 year olds and 2 year olds are very different to 4 year olds! They expect all children to self register and then sit on the carpet which is hard for the children who are on time as they sometimes have to sit for over 15 mins before they start (I witnessed this when I visited with my other child). They used to then do show and tell for 20 mins every morning, they have just reduced this to one morning a week (which is better). The children do get used to this but is it me or is it unreasonable to expect a 2 year old to arrive in the same way. Most 2 year olds arrive in tears and it makes it very hard for the parents to seperate from the children as impossible to get them to settle on carpet. Their response was "they couldn't treat the younger children differently as the older children wouldn't understand!" Personally I feel that they should not be expected to sit on the carpet for such a long time anyway, my foundation stage class certainly don't! I am worried that they really don't understand young children. How do other nurseries welcome the children in the morning? Am I being unrealistic? I don't know if to press this issue further as I know a lot of other parents aren't happy with this.

Many thanks

Pre-school 2-4.11

ours all come in self register (some with help!!) then free-play for about 15ms or so until all children have arrived.