Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Supernumeracy

Hi titchy

I work in a pack away village hall pre-school and was made supernumerate by the committee two years ago. It has proved very effective, as the increasing amount of 'paper work' would never get done otherwise! I find I have time to keep in touch with all the staff, arrange training and meetings along with my responsibilities of Senco, Behaviour Management and H&Safety! I am also able to cover any last minute staff absence, which can be very useful at times! We also have an administrator to cover the register, invoices, funding and wages etc. We are charity based and do not seem to make any money, apart from fund raising events, but staff, parents and children all seem to be happy! :o

well i'm a manager in a pack away setting and i'm in ratio doing all the paperwork at home in the evenings and weekends in my own time and not getting paid for it....... can't see the committee going for supernumeracy some how!!!!

I will become supernumary when we move to new site. This enable me to implement best practice, arrange in house training, attend partnership meetings, home visits and cover for staff absences. I intend to spend the same amount of time with the children, my hours have been increased, I will be working 9-5, we close at 3.15 so paperwork will be done from 3.15 to 5pm, I will also cease being a key person, but overseeing all the keypersons assessing, planning etc.

I'm striving to do this for our manager/leader. Even if we can only afford a day or two a week it would definitely be worth it.

Whether it is financially viable is another matter, especially given that we go quite a bit above ratio (i.e. 3 adults even when we only need 2).

It might be possible in the summer term when our numbers are at their highest, then I could use bank staff to cover.