Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Childminders

HappyMaz

I'm just reading the report on the Single Funding Formula from the Children, Schools and Families Committee. A sentence caught my eye and I wondered what you all think...

'we record our misgivings about the rather functional term “childminder”, which does little to recognise the caring relationships which often exist between the adult and the child.'

Good to see childminders being given some credit by our parliamentary representatives, don't you think?

Maz

However maybe a more effective way to recognise childminders would be to give us access to the graduate leader funding?

You're pushing on an open door here, Upsy Daisy. I haven't finished reading it yet, so perhaps they'll recommend that very thing!

Maz

I quite agree.

However maybe a more effective way to recognise childminders would be to give us access to the graduate leader funding?

I AM receiving Graduate Leader Funding, Upsy Daisy (I'm in my 2nd year of my FD). the audit forms are just being checked to see how I've spent the money and I'll then re-apply for funding for my 3rd year. The LA have been really supportive of me!

I've just filled in a form about my qualification requirements for 2010-2013, saying I'd like to go on and do my BA(Hons) "Funding will be prioritised to those who provide this information"

and, yes, it is lovely to see our parliamentary reps giving childminders some credit!! :o

Nona

How interesting, Nona. Do you receive funding just for fees or for cover and books etc?

Everything!!!! xD

Initially applications for GLF were issued to pre-schools, nurseries and day care first and childminders could then apply for whatever funding was left (fairly typical, I'm sure you'll agree!)