Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sitting On The Carpet

hello everyone, i hope u can help. im in my first year as a reception teacher although have been teaching for years. My Head has suggested, following an observation of another Reception colleague who uses this practice, that when having whole class carpet sessions, the children should be seated in rows of 'ability' . this seems totally at odds with what i have understood the foundation curriculum to be. can anyon advise pls?

Welcome to the Forum, slimmetty and congratulations on making your first post.

I'm a preschooler so can't offer advice of any kind, but I wonder why your head has suggested it - what does s/he hope to achieve by it? How would it work? Would the less able children sit at the front or the back? Would you need to do a seating plan for carpet time? What would happen as children progress - would you be able to make more space in each row to allow these children to join the next tier?

I'll be really interested to see what teachers have to say about this!

Maz

Hi Slimmety, welcome on board!

As Maz said, I would like to know why your Head wishes for this, Ive never sat my children in ability groups, and never would. I used talking partners a lot in my last school and often sat children in language pairs ( we had 8 languages in one class), but otherwise I didn't dictate too much where they sat unless they needed to sit at the front to see/hear better.

Guest LornaW
hello everyone, i hope u can help. im in my first year as a reception teacher although have been teaching for years. My Head has suggested, following an observation of another Reception colleague who uses this practice, that when having whole class carpet sessions, the children should be seated in rows of 'ability' . this seems totally at odds with what i have understood the foundation curriculum to be. can anyon advise pls?

Welcome to the forum Slimmetty!

Oh my goodness where is your HT from - the victorian era!!!!