Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interview Questions/scenarios

:o

hi

can any one help with some good questions for interviews for a level 3 or equivalent staff member.

I am new to interviewing and I know the obvious questions but i would like something more challenging, I have looked through a lot of subjects on the forums but cant find anything so far, if its been discussed before please put me in the right direction.

thanks

Hi Pauline

You don't say whether this is a person for a supervisory position or deputy, but thinking back to my own interview, here are some of the scenarios I was quizzed about...

- You hear another member of staff shouting at one of the children. How do you feel about this and what would you do?

- A parent comes into nursery and is obviously very upset about something. She wants to talk to you: how do you handle this situation?

- You overhear a parent making a racist comment when dropping off their child in the morning. What would you do?

- A parent comes in and tells you something she's heard about another family whose children attend your pre-school. She hints that the children may be in danger. It could be gossip, but what do you do?

You could always ask her a few 'nice' questions, too:

- have they heard of 'fluffy duck syndrome' and what steps does could be taken to promote children's creativity?

- how important is outdoor play and how can it support children's learning and development?

Just a few ideas - hope it helps!

Maz

Why should I offer you the post over the other 100 applicants?

Describe yourself in 3 words

What is your favourite childrens book and why?

What is your definition of work / life balance?

To work in early years you need to have a particular attitude & disposition,

You've either got it or you haven't..What is IT and have you got it?

Sorry, some are tongue in cheek :oxD:(

Peggy

Hello ladies