Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyps Written Task 1 - Activity For Babies

Hi, I could really do with some ideas! I am about to do my 6 week placement in the baby room and am thinking of an activity to 'lead and support' in as part of my EYPS long pathway written task. All my experience is with 2 and above so I'm finding the thought of organsing an activity for babies a little daunting.

So far I've thought about treasure baskets, or an activity with light and dark.

Hope someone out there can help me!

Many thanks.

Hi

I'm not experienced in this area, so not sure how suitable these but here are some ideas~

• sensory play with cooked noodles (as Ch New Yr is soon)
  • discovery bottles
  • pushing wheeled toys with painted wheels along a roll of wallpaper

Hi

I'm not experienced in this area, so not sure how suitable these but here are some ideas~

• sensory play with cooked noodles (as Ch New Yr is soon)
  • discovery bottles
  • pushing wheeled toys with painted wheels along a roll of wallpaper

Many thanks, I like the idea of linking something to Chinese New Year. What do you mean by discovery bottles?

Lisa

Have you spoken to the room leader, or been into the room to see what sort of experiences the babies are currently offered? If not you might want to hold off before doing any amount of planning work because they might already do the things you're considering very effectively. Of course if the baby room is within a setting you know very well, so you might have done this already! Perhaps the room leader has an aspect of practice that she'd like you to develop? Or a new experience that she feels the babies might enjoy but hasn't risen to the top of the 'to do' list.

Also, what are the needs of the children within the room? What stage of development have they reached and what do they seem to be interested in?

There's a lot to consider and you've only six weeks - when do you start?

Maz