Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Word Counts And Referencing (aaaah!)

I wonder if anyone can help me before I throw in the towel! I started my Foundation Degree with the Open University in October and have to hand in my second assignment next week. I have completed it (not sure if its right, but that at the moment is the least of my worries!) I need to get my word count down from 1555 to 1500, and I still have to add references to the main text which will put the word count up further. I wondered if I can use abbreviations for documents such as Every Child Matters if I write it in full first time I mention it. Any help gratefully received.

Also I have referenced a website which I used and am not sure how to reference it in my main text. I know what to do for the reference list but not sure if I need to add the website name in the text or just the author.

If anyone can make sense of this and has any help then thank you,

mrsW.

Hi

I am in second year of FD, hang in there it can be confusing, for referencing help try the website Neils Toolbox, you input the info as requested and it lays it all out for you.

You can go 10% over your word count usually with no problems.

Make sure your writing is analytical avoid fuzzy words. For example this is a copy of a paragraph from a book reveiw I did (Awarded A Grade) Hope this helps.....