Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ba Or Ba With Honours

Hi everyone,

I'm just having a 'what shall I do with my life?' moment. I am currently studying the foundation degree in Early Years through the OU. I'm looking at topping it up to a full degree if i ever complete it xD

Now I really don't want to offend anyone by my question, i genuinly don't know the answer, what is the point of topping up to a BA with honors, when people are looking for a degree qualification will they be interested if it is with honors or will a degree be sufficient. I am of course aware of the massive personal achievement of having a BA with honors but does it offer any other benefits. (I really need to question if I can do any kind of degree if I am having to ask this question :o )

Thanks

Rapunzel

It used to be (and I think it still applies) an ordinary degree was awarded if the student passed but failed to gain enough marks for the hons award (honours degrees did require an extra year of study but don't think that applies any longer)

"The biggest distinction made is whether the degree is awarded with or without honours. Nowadays, nearly all candidates sit for honours; an ordinary (or pass) degree (i.e. a degree without honours) is usually awarded to a candidate who marginally fails the honours examination, or significant parts of it."

really it depends on how/if you want to progress after gaining your degree when I gained mine a friend failed her final year so was awarded an ordinary degree which at the time meant she couldn't gain QTS.