Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

School Age Child Joining Preschool.

I have a child who should be in a reception class joining my setting in January. The family have just moved to the area and the sibling has obtained a place in our feeder school but there is no place for this child.

We have already had this in September where a child stayed with us until a place became available which fortunately was only a few weeks.

School transfer in my area has been a nightmare this year with many children waiting for spaces at their favoured school, so the likelihood of the child obtaining a place is quite slim.

The child came for a taster session and the child has seperation issues and a history of severe temper tantrums, so transition is going to be very hard especially if the child settles with us then moves on when a place becomes available.

I have also been told that we will need to assess him on the Foundation Stage Profile which I have no experience of.

I am posting this really to see if anyone else is in a similiar situation and for words of wisdom.

Thanks

I have no experience of settling a school-aged child into pre-school - I'm assuming he isn't statutory school age yet? Presumably if he was the LA would have to find him a place at school? Are there funding implications for the family - can you access nursery education grant funding for him whilst he's with you?