Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Foundation Degree

Hi all

I am in my second year doing my foundation degree. The uni that i am undertaking this has not really stated what i will gain after completing the 2 and a half years.

Also what are my options after completing this, what if i do not wish to go further what qualification will i have gained. Also what if i go on to do my top up year how will this qualification be different.

Nobody within the uni has really focused any time for pointing this out....

Carly

Hi Carly,

My understanding is that your Foundation Degree will take two years, then you can top up to a full degree at that stage if you prefer. You could then go for EYPS if you wanted, whilst raising your degree to an Honours degree (taken together, this would add on the long pathway for EYPS which is 15 months). I think I've got this right, but I'd welcome someone else confirming this, or telling me I don't know what I'm talking about!

My understanding from the University of Worcester staff is that we can go straight on to EYPS at the end of the foundation degree and then we would have half the credits required to top up to a BA Hons. I'll double check this with my tutor on Monday but this was the path they seemed to be recommending to us on a study day there last summer.

My take is this (and apologies if I am wrong!!!)

Once you have done and passed the foundation degree you have a level 5 qualification.

If you want to become an EYP then you have to get 60 more points by doing 2 modules of the full degree.

I believe you can do these 2 modules alongside one of the pathways for EYP status!!!

If you want to!

Alternatively you can top up your degree to a full degree (not sure how long to do this!!) then you will have a level 6 qualification and can do the quick pathway to EYPS if you have lots of childcare experience.

As I say thats my take!!!! :o

Once you have done and passed the foundation degree you have a level 5 qualification.