Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Creche Baby Care

I am a teacher in a school based nursery, we have been asked within our nursery to provide additional care for 1-4 children from 0-3 years for 2hrs on a monday. I am unsure from the welfare guidelines if I can do this. I understand that we would need to ensure our ratios, our ratios are correct for our age group but adding younger children into the same room!?! what about the environment we must have to have baby changing facilities etc... I feel we can not provide this service?!?

Many thanks for any comments - i have just started teaching in this nursery and not fully up together with childcare for younger children

Anita

Hi atalman and welcome to the forum.

This is a big thing to ask of you. How much time do you have before this happens? There is a lot to think about before you start to accept very young children and babies into your setting.

You need to think about feeding (where can you sit to feed bottles, do you need highchairs?) sleeping arrangements, maybe sterilising depending on what you will provide, age appropriate toys, how you keep inappropriate resources (like choking hazards) away from babies, whether your routine is adaptable enough to suit small babies. I'm sure there are other things I have not thought of off the top of my head.

I also have to question how you will cope with small children who are only there for two hours a week and would probably therefore find it very hard to settle. Your ratios may need to be very high to enable you to give them the attention they need.

What age-group are you registered for? I'm not sure how this works with group settings being a childminder. Do you need to contact Ofsted?