Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Booklet

Hello

This is my first time on this site/forum. I have just set up/converted our Nursery class and the reception class into a foundation stage unit.

I am the newly appointed FSU co-ordinator mainly due a newly refurbished unit and an OFSTED in 3 weeks!!

I have been at the school for just over a year and am now feeling brave enough to make some more changes!

I would love to have a booklet that I can give to new parents telling them what happens in Nursery and what they can expect from the FS curriculum. Just wondering if anyone already has one that they would be willing to share? :)

Any help would be fantastic, thanks.

Hi Wizzy and welcome. :D

I'm sure someone will be able to help you with this but do you not have anything already that you could at least use as a starting point? School's have to have some sort of "prospectus" dont they?.

I think there may also be some info on QCA or Sure Start that may help you address this.

Good luck with the project and also with Ofsted. Keep us posted as to how it all goes!

Hi Wizzy, and welcome to the forum :D

We give our parents our long term aims as an idea of what the FS curriculum is all about, but I must admit, it is a bit dry :o I'll attach it here.

We also have a little brochure which we have had printed which explains our philosophy, a bit about the provision in terms of the layout/activities, and most importantly, how keen we are to create an excellent relationship with our families through making sure we are approachable, friendly yet professional. I envy you in your lovely new FS unit! I'd also put in a bit about uniting the nursery and reception and explain about learning through play, and child-initiated and adult-directed learning.

Aims_and_Learning_Opportunities_2004.doc

Hi Wizzy and welcome,