Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Steiner Wins Opt-out From Early Years Curriculum

Got this info today from cypnow.

HERE

The school has been granted exemptions from all communication, literacy and language targets, and any goals related to the use of ICT.

I think this is really positive as it shows that principles can be fought for and acknowledged. :o

What do you think?

Peggy

This seems like a really positive move to me. It is good to know that if an educator has a clear theoretical justification for the curriculum they are delivering its value will be acknowledged.

I wonder if there will now be an increase in settings who use the Steiner approach so that they also may apply for exemption? There are lots of people who feel that we introduce formal literacy too early.

This will be very interesting to watch.

Edited by Upsy Daisy

That is very interesting Peggy....thanks for the link.

When I studied the Steiner approach during one of my FD courses we discussed this very thing and wondered how they would overcome the ICT goals.

Isn't there an option for parents to opt out of parts of the EYFS too. I seem to remember it being discussed here before......unless I'm imagining it!! Must go and look.

While there is sometimes a tendency to introduce formal literacy in early years I would have thought this would be in Reception classes rather than in pre-schools. I thought Steiner is an approach used in pre-schools rather than in Reception classes (please correct me if I'm wrong) and so would not imagine an increase in settings using this approach.

Very interesting though and will be watching this development.

I thought Steiner is an approach used in pre-schools rather than in Reception classes (please correct me if I'm wrong) and so would not imagine an increase in settings using this approach.

Doesn't Steiner go all the way up through the National Curriculum key stages? One to research, I think!