Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Observation And Assessment

:D Hope everybody had a good Christmas. Not sure whether I should have put this in section titled 'observation and assessment' but as its in the Reception/Year1 section I thought I'd better ask here instead as I find it to be a lot different now I'm in a FS unit. I'd like to get an idea of what others do as I'm sick of doing what the LEA suggests and then realising that its not for the best after all.

Assessment: I always used to assess at the end of each half term as I found that it gave me a clear understanding of what the child had learnt in relation to what had been taught that 1/2 term (esp in Lit and Numeracy). I know that assessment should be ongoing and feed into planning and we do do this in an informal way-eg adapt activity for individuals if they found it too difficult/easy but I'm not very good at planning in assessments and have been told that we should indicate on our Medium Term plan which activities we will be assessing that term.