Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Expansion - Help!

Hi everybody - I'm new to this but have been browsing the forums for a while. I hope I have posted in the right place!?!?

I work in a nursery which has a children's centre for under threes and then a pre-school room in the school building for our funded and over three year olds. We currently have 21 children a session but are expanding in September to 40 a session (VVVVVery WWWWorried). I just wondered if anyone else has this amount of children and how you manage the sessions. We currently have register and story time altogether but I am thinking this would be done in key person groups ? Any suggestions or ideas welcome please!!

Goodness 40 a session is HUGE! No wonder you are worried!

We currently have 20 per session and sometimes divide the children into preschoolers and pre-preschoolers (twos to threes) for story time as the younger ones have more picture oriented books than the older group, who have more 'involved' stories.

We work in our key groups for part of each session, which may mean going outside - like on Monday I took my group of 7 that day out to make some proper squishy squashy mud (if you've been following my blog you'll understand why) in the digging area and the younger children in that day worked with my Deputy indoors with squishy squashy wet compost in the galt tray.

The smaller, groups definitely work better as you can observe properly and monitor developments and children get their voices heard

Are the under and over three's together?

You mentioned separate rooms....... is that for the different age groups?

And is the figure of 40 including both age groups?

Hi sorry let me elaborate,

We have a baby room (birth-2) capacity 9 babies at each session, a toddler room (2-3) 16 children at each session, then the pre-school room (3-5) currently 21 children a session but will be expanding to 40 a session from september.