Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Incomings And Outgoings

I've just received an updated set of accounts from our treasurer (I'm chair). I've not been doing the post of chair long, and I'm not good at figures, but from what I can gather our monthly wage costs are more than our termly income from fees. Now this can't be right or sustainable for that matter.

Presumably in a normal year quite a bit of what we fund raise goes towards paying wages and rent, but that doesn't seem right, as surely it should go on 'extras'.

Do other settings struggle to cover wages from fees alone? I can't see that we're over staffed. Okay we could cut down the staffing a bit and still be in ratio, but I really wouldn't want to do that.

I'd love to hear about what others think.

Whilst pondering all this, I was thinking about ways to bring in more money, and I wondered about sponsorship. Would it be okay/legal to ask around to see if any local companies or similar would like to sponsor us, or is that a big 'no no' as a charity?

Just an update, had a closer look at last year's accounts and she hasn't included the NEG in this amount. Phew! Still we do in the average year run at a slight loss. Is this the same position for other PVI settings?

We always found that we ran at a loss for the first half of the year and then towards the summer term, when we had more children, this evened out. We never made a profit though! Fundraising was essential for us to afford to buy essentials such as stationary and art supplies.

I'm administrator (and deputy supervisor) for our setting (was chair, secretary, joint treasurer in years gone by).