Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Games

hello there I am a student and having observations on several story times and one outside game for Nursery kiddies - the class have half EAL and 5 SEN so it's a challenge to keep them sitting still and foucused . Any suggestions for really engaging carpet time, outside game acitivities would be great

Hi there kv 1

I would suggest singing games like Here We Go Louby Loo, The Farmer's in his Den, In and out the Dusty Bluebells and There Lived a Princess Long ago.

If you can memorise either Goldilocks and the 3 Bears or the Three Little Pigs, or both, or use some props and get the children to help you remember what happened next.

These are all inclusive and appeal to non-English speakers - lots of repetition and actions.

Oh yes, I prefer to call them children - not kiddies, but then perhaps I am old fashioned!

Good luck

Lesley

hello there I am a student and having observations on several story times and one outside game for Nursery kiddies - the class have half EAL and 5 SEN so it's a challenge to keep them sitting still and foucused . Any suggestions for really engaging carpet time, outside game acitivities would be great

Music is always a great leveller - something simple like a tap-sticks activity to some nice background music. Ask the children in turn how they would like to tap their sticks (on the floor, in front of them, above their heads etc) then get the rest of the group to "follow the leader" - body language and visual indicators are great for breaking down spoken language barriers.

DDC

Oh yes, I prefer to call them children - not kiddies, but then perhaps I am old fashioned!

Good luck

Lesley

Welcome to the forum kv 1 and congratulations on your first post. You'll find lots of great suggestions on here!

Lesleypimperne, I agree with you I hate to hear people saying 'kids', just one of my soapboxes I'm afraid!

Edited by Cait

Hi,