Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Training

Hi all

I was hoping for advice!!

I am a manager of a day nursery, and really want to do a course, but something that will help me further with working to better future (more money!! :oxD )

I want a qualification that will give me greatly chances of jobs. Although i do not want to change job at moment and am happy with wage etc. i want to do a course now.

I have Diploma in childcare and NVQ level 3 in management, so whats next which level 4 or EYP.

I think my choices are level 4 in childcare

level 4 in management

or something like EYP

Am i right or completely off track, anyone done these, any advice would be great! how long do they take, what is envloved with them, and what can they lead onto?

thanks all

ice

I am currently doing the NVQ4 CCLD, as I thought i would learn something new. I would not recommend it at all. It is just like a validation course for what you already know. Haven't learnt anytyhing yet, and is in NVQ speak which i find hard to get my head round, did NNEB in 1988. I wish I had waited a bit and done EYP, which I am planning to do from September. Hope that helps a little

You could then go on and do your BA Honours and your EYPS....... from this you could also so some sort of teachers qualification, it all depends what you want to do in the future....

Hi

I don't think you are completely off track but perhaps more a case of there being so many different courses at different levels you are almost spoilt for choice.

I guess EYP is way to go if you want to 'lead' in Early Years. I choose the word carefully as you don't need EYP to 'manage' a setting if that makes sense!

If you have level 3 childcare and level 4 management I guess maybe 'upping' the childcare aspect is an option.

The OU do a level 4 Certificate in EY Practice and it is recognised on the latest CWDC as being a valid qualification.

The only 'trouble' with that is that you might get the 'study bug' it can be addictive :o