Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reception Group Work Advice - Please!

Hi,

I'm an NQT who commenced a PPA position in Jan. Once a week I have a morning in reception and despite trying various different strategies I don't seem to be very good at managing the group work activities. Unfortunately my PGCE focused on KS1/2 so I've got very little experience of this stage to help me.

I have 26 ch which are split into 5 groups based upon ability. After I've done my input on the carpet, I send them off to do their respective jobs/free play and they have about 30 mins before I have to get them to tidy up. However, during the 30 mins, the ch are either messing around, not focused on their work or are very loud! I seem to go from solving one problem to be struck by 2 more! HELP!!

If you had five groups in the class and 30 mins time what kind of balance would you have between free choice, indep work, teacher supported and teacher led activities? Also, how long would you expect them to remain focused on a task for? I've asked for some advice from the teacher but I've not got to the bottom of what she is suggesting. Any thoughts are welcome.

Do you plan for this yourself or does the teacher have some input?

Do you get any PPA time or NQT when you could go and observe what she does?

30 mins is not very long, why is this so short? I would suggest that this is why you are having problems but if you are doing something vastly different to the class teacher that might not help either.

Hi there, mcrobinson

I work in pre-school so any thoughts I have would be utterly useless!

I just wanted to welcome you to the Forum, and congratulate you on your first post. I'm sure the Forum will come up trumps for you though! :o

Maz