Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Opportunity Or Not?

Hi, without giving too much away I might have the opportunity to appear in a documentary about childcare - no not the whistleblowing kind - more to do with men in childcare. My role would be to be the manager of a nursery overseeing some men working in it alongside nursery workers. My boss and I will be going to a meeting with the production team. I have many many many questions and concerns as you might expect; the main one being that it must portray nurseries, me and my employers in a positive light; there has been enough negative publicity to do with nurseries and as a passionate professional I really don't want it to have a negative outcome!

What are your thoughts and what questions would you have?

Many thanks

I would think about the ethical side, what are they trying to show? What is it that they are trying to prove? Therefore will children be put at any risk or in be put in situations which they wouldn't normally. I dont think for one minute that thats what would happen if men were working with chidlren but I am just trying to figure out what they hope to prove (if anything). I think I would try to find out more as it sounds interesting.

Qu: Will you have a say in the 'editing' process?

Qu: Will there be a focus on the 'stereotype' of men and child safety, if so how will they ensure that the focus doesn't exascerbate this steroetype.?

Qu: Will the programme portray a broad age range of men? ie; maturer males (but not just in management roles) as well as trainees?

Peggy

How very exciting but please be very careful. The production company have their own agenda which will not be yours. They will want exciting and controversial television. Who will choose the male employees and will they be chosen to be diverse, controversial, useless, wonderful etc. Once filming starts things could very easily move out of your control.